top of page

Black Nationalism in the 19th Century


One of my favorite ideologies to study in Black American History is the ideology of Black Nationalism. I as a historian have always loved this arena because I thought it was so powerful and made me feel as a Black woman that I had a certain power that the world often tells me that I do not have because of the color of my skin. I have decided to take the personal approach in writing this particular piece as you may see with others because I feel it is intrinsically a part of me. I first studied David Walker my freshman year at the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville. My professor Dr. Pearl Dowe introduced the text Appeal to the Colored Citizens of the World. But in Particular and Very Expressly to Those of the United States. and the ideology of Black Nationalism and I was instantly blown away. The actual physical text made such bold proclamations and demands that I thought of this man as a scholar. Walker’s mind, his understanding of the contradictions of the American system, and his prophetic nature in expressing the fate of America if they did not deal with this system inspired me and pushed me to use my own voice through whatever means possible. I was blown away as I sat and read David Walker, “The Americans say we are ungrateful, but I ask them for heaven’s sake what should we be grateful to them for- for murdering our fathers and mothers? Or do they wish us to return thanks to them for chaining and handcuffing us, branding us, cramming fire down our throats or for keeping us in slavery… They certainly think that we are a gang of fools?(The Appeal) Can you imagine being a fly on the wall while Walker writes this text? Can you imagine sitting down speaking to him as he lays out this argument? POWERFUL! \

Many of the questions Walker poses in his text are still relevant to our generation. Though Black Americans may not be slaves so far as the legal rhetoric reflects that we are chattel but the fact we still hear sayings, “Black people are always complaining, Black people are lazy, and we have a Black a President what more do you want?” but that we still have a generation of Black men and women being snatched from this earth without ever receiving justice... Walker’s words are more relevant than ever! The merging of ideas from generations of Black Nationalist and revolutionary leaders like David Walker, Maria Stewart, Marcus Garvey, Malcolm X, Kwame Ture and the like into our generation’s philosophies is so important! Black Nationalism is the assertion that even though we are in this country where we are not considered equal we must build a nation that protects us from injustice and indignity. Black Nationalism is NOT one that asserts racist ideas of hating any other group because of their skin but it does admonish keeping Black people looking to themselves and their community for answers resources. Black Nationalism is self-sufficient it says look to the individual to achieve! It reminds the individual man and woman that they are more than what the majority has defined them as, and that even in the midst of great adversity they are called to do great work!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page